An Amazing Cookie Baking Experience (Chocolate Walnut Cookies)

To make up for the giant fail-tastic post of my October Daring Bakers’ challenge, I’m posting an ode to Smitten Kitchen’s (adapted from David Lebovitz’s) chocolate walnut cookies.

This was about all that was left after a few minutes...

After a thrown-together dinner of grilled steak and steamed broccoli last night, Mike and I sat down for a night of TV (him) and homework (me). But instead of doing my Orgo pre-lab, I made cookies per his suggestion!

OH MY DEAR GOD. These were some of the best cookies I’ve ever made. A major difference was using cold butter, sliced up into 1/2-inch pieces, instead of softening it in the microwave. I also used my new electric beater (YAY! $7 on craigslist! several types of beaters! BEAUTIFUL and life-changing!) to mix these and I think that resulted in a better mixing job. I used half cake flour and half all-purpose, by virtue of running out of one. I ALSO chopped up the walnuts more finely than I normally would, which took care of the problem I’ve had with walnuts making the cookies too bitter. The toasted-walnut flavor infused the cookies and it was *great.*

Cliched but YUM

We ate a bunch last night–dipped in milk of course–and then Mike brought them to his office today, where they were another big hit. Natalie and Becca can attest to my singing the praises of these cookies all night.

My pictures suck, but that’s largely because I was too busy wolfing down cookies instead of taking pictures and experimenting with my new lighting setup (hence the funny changes in lighting here). REGARDLESS…go make these. Now!

Update: I’ve made these 4 or 5 times since I originally posted this recipe. I’ve found that the 1/2 cake flour, 1/2 all purpose flour combination is best. They are also much better with chopped up dark chocolate than with semi-sweet chips (or even semi-sweet bars). Good luck!

Amazing Chocolate Chunk Walnut Cookies
Recipe from Smitten Kitchen, who adapted from David Lebovitz’s The Great Book of Chocolate.

Makes about 24 good-sized cookies.

1/2 cup (100 grams) granulated sugar
1/2 cup (120 grams) firmly packed light brown sugar
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, cold, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
1 1/2 cups roughly chopped dark chocolate (I used Hershey’s special dark)
1 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped fine

Preheat oven to 300F.

Beat the sugars and butters together until smooth. Mix in the egg, vanilla, and baking soda.

Stir together the flour and salt, then mix them into the batter. Mix in the chocolate chunks and nuts.

Scoop the cookie dough into 2-tablespoon balls and place on baking sheet about 2 inches apart. Mine spread a lot so you should DEFINITELY give these plenty of space!

Bake for 15 minutes, or until pale golden brown. Remove from the oven, let rest for a minute or two on the pan, then remove and cool on a wire rack.

One response to “An Amazing Cookie Baking Experience (Chocolate Walnut Cookies)

  1. Pingback: Roasted Butternut Squash, Caramelized Onion, Prosciutto, and Feta Pizza « New Cook on the Block

Leave a Reply

