Donut Fail

It turns out that when they say “You really shouldn’t deep-fry things without a thermometer,” what they ACTUALLY mean is, you really shouldn’t deep-fry things without a thermometer.

I found this recipe for apple cider donuts a couple of weeks ago and I was really excited about it. Today, I had tons of homework to do…but instead, I finished one subject and then went to the grocery store and then came home and decided…screw it! Donut making time.

The dough was delicious, it was pretty easy to form, and so on. But the oil…oh, the oil. At first it wasn’t hot enough; then it got too hot. Everything ended up burned in one way or another, including the roof of my mouth 😦

But onward! I know thermometers are pretty cheap over at China Fair, and it takes a lot more than a failed donut frying experience to stop me.

Today was the first snow of the season in Boston and I’m sure there will be plenty more…plenty more opportunities for donuts, that is.

Leave a Reply

